Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Oceania > New Zealand

Religion in New Zealand


Religions of Religion in New ZealandNew Zealand's population had its roots after the Second World War mainly in the UK but also in Germany, the Netherlands, Scandinavia (the number of Swedish kittens is estimated at 10,000) and Southern Europe. Since then, immigrants have also come from East Asia, India and various parts of Polynesia. During most of the 1980s, emigration predominated, mainly to Australia, but since the beginning of the 1990s, immigration has again been greater than emigration and the immigration surplus has gradually increased.

The Maoris, who mostly live on the North Island, amount to about 525,000 people, which corresponds to about 5 percent of the population. 86 percent of the population live in localities with more than 1,000 residents. The largest cities are Auckland (1.5 million residents, 2018) and Christchurch (377,200) on the South Island.

Religions of New Zealand


Official languages ​​are English and Maori. English is spoken by the majority of the population, while Maori according to the census is spoken by 4%.


According to Countryaah data, New Zealand is nominally Christian, but 20% of the population does not profess any religion. Three churches dominate: the Anglican (22%), the Presbyterian (16%) and the Roman Catholic (15%). There are many smaller Protestant churches and an Orthodox.

Christian culture was largely introduced through European immigration. The Anglican Church was introduced through missionaries from Australia in 1814. Its first bishop, Selwyn, was also active in the missionary work in Melanesia. Many of the churches have also been established among the Maoris. In addition, several indigenous churches have been developed in the meeting between the Polynesian and the Christian religion.

The ecumenical work is coordinated through the Conference of Churches in Aotearoa and Maori Ecumenical Body in Aotearoa. The large Protestant churches are also members of the Christian Conference of Asia (CCA).

Other Countries in Oceania

The Religion FAQs Copyright 1998 - 2020 All Rights Reserved